History, Structure & Mandate

The Business Development Centre Was Established in Late 1998 to Provide Services to the Communities of the Deh Cho Region Using Funding Provided by the Department of Industry, Tourism & Investment.

Its Mandate is to increase employment through Business Development Services.

Although funded by government, the BDC is run by a local Board of Directors. Government does not interfere with operations or the decision making processes. The Board members and any committees that are set up have full authority over the organization.

The Board is made up of eight volunteers from the region. From those members, an executive of three will be elected; a chairperson, a vice-chairperson and a secretary/treasurer. The executive will work closely with the General Manager to oversee the Center's activities.

In addition to the Board of Directors, an Investment Review Committee (IRC) will be set up. It will be comprised of two Board members and three people from the business community of the region. The IRC will review loan applications to decide if the idea presented in each application has a reasonable chance of success. Factors that will most likely be considered can be found here.

The Board is sometimes looking for new Board and Investment Review Committee members so if you are interested please let us know. Our address, telephone number and fax number are on the top of the page.















There are three staff at the Business Development Centre; a General Manager and two Business Development Officers. The names and contact information are listed below.

Todd Noseworthy General Manager tnoseworthy@northwestel.net
Sean Whelly Business Development Officer swhelly@northwestel.net
Coleen Canney Administrative Assistant ccanney@northwestel.net






Deh Cho Business Development Centre
P.O. Box 238, Fort Simpson, NT. X0E 0N0
Tel: (867) 695-2441 Fax: (867) 695-2052
Toll Free Tel: (877) 695-2441





Board of Directors

When all seats are full, the Board will consist of eight people. Two from Fort Simpson & Fort Liard and one from each of Nahanni Butte, Jean Marie River, Wrigley & Trout Lake. Each member has one vote on all issues. Current members are listed below.

Larry Campbell Chairperson Fort Simpson
Dolphus Jumbo Director Trout Lake
Tim Mclelland Secretary / Treasurer Fort Simpson
  Director Nahanni Butte
  Director Fort Liard
Yvonne Norwegian Director Jean Marie River
Vacant Director Wrigley






















Annual Reports / Strategic Plans

Annual Reports


Strategic Plan